5 WWII Books You Should Read This Summer

I’ll admit it: WWII is my favorite sub-genre of historical fiction. I mean, I love fiction in general, but these stories have an extra special place on my bookshelf (and in my heart). Now that it’s summer, you have more time to read – don’t you? lol – why not invest time in a few high-quality books that will probably change the way you look at the world? Take it from me, these books are keepers.

If you do decide to read any of them, please please reach out and let me know what you thought! I adore bonding with people over favorite books. Enough said: here are 5 WWII Books You Should Read This Summer

. . .

The Storyteller | Jodi Picoult

// forgiveness // baking and challah bread // war crime investigations
// secrets kept from loved ones // Auschwitz // fairy tales as reality //

History isn’t about dates and places and wars.
It’s about the people who fill the spaces between them
.”

. . .

The Nightingale | Kristin Hannah

// resistance // reaching out for love that can never be yours // sacrifices of war // heartbreak // hope and love, and little moments of joy // Ravensbruick // Operation Spring Wind //

I love you,” he mouthed.
Shots rang out
.

 

My copy of Unbroken is in storage, and I haven’t gotten myself The Sunflower yet, so you’ll just have to pretend that I’m not missing two books from this photo.

. . .

Sarah’s Key | Tatiana De Rosnay

// July 16-17th 1945 // shattered innocence // Auschwitz // journalism
// painful and compelling // Zakhor Al Tichkah //

. . .If they had told her, if they had told her everything they knew, wouldn’t that have made today easier?”

. . .

The Sunflower | Simon Wiesenthal

// inspired The Storyteller // gripping // makes you wrestle // makes you ask questions // lots and lots of opinions // fantastic discussion starter //

There are many kinds of silence. Indeed it can be more eloquent than words. . .

. . .

Unbroken | Laura Hillenbrand

// if you haven’t read this book, you need to. you just need to. //

Dignity is as essential to human life as water, food, and oxygen. The stubborn retention of it, even in the face of extreme physical hardship, can hold a man’s soul in his body long past the point at which the body should have surrendered it.

. . .

 

enjoy.
k.

 

 

|| Let’s Have a Conversation ||

Have you read any of these titles? What are your favorite WWII books?Have any recommendations for me?

15 thoughts on “5 WWII Books You Should Read This Summer

  1. I love all these book recommendations! I actually have quite a large list of books to read this summer, but I will most definitely check one of these out soon, probably in the fall time. Looking forward to curling up with The Sunflower! I also did a similar post on my blog a couple months ago, and although my
    recommended novels aren’t WWII themed, I would love it if you could check it out! ❤

    Aliah | Indigo Ink

    Like

  2. I AM SO HAPPY YOU DID THIS POST, K? Really am ^.^
    I haven’t read any of these but I really want to now! I suppose my favorite WWII books would be The Hiding Place (nonfic) and The Book Thief (fiction). Right now my brain cannot remember others XD

    xxxx
    Lisa

    Like

    • am so happy you like it, Lisa!! Hope you enjoy these books as much as I did.

      The Hiding Place is an EXCELLENT book. I haven’t read The Book Thief yet, but I’ve heard good things about it!!

      all the best.
      k.

      Like

  3. I SCREAMED when I read this, because I had the exact same blog post idea, although the list is different from the one here. That’s good; because more World War II books to read! It’s one of my favorite periods ever, and to have more books set in the time period to indulge in = PURE BLISS. <33

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Like

    • Oh my goodness, you totally should! I would love to see what’s on your WWII favorites list.

      RIGHT? WWII novels are the greatest. *fistbump*

      hope your week
      is lovely.
      k.

      Like

Hey you, don't be shy. Come and join the conversation?