Moments Without Words

I planned to write this and post it in May. Now what is it? Almost June? So much for life not getting in the way of well. . .life. I wrote a bit about how stressful May has been for me on Instagram already, so I won’t go into it here. But if you missed my blog posts, rest assured that I have another one in the works for next week, and I’ll try not to skip out on you guys without warning again.

It’s just that: I haven’t had the energy for blogging or writing.
You understand, right?
Okay good.

Recently I watched this video about staying present, and wow it blessed me so much. I always knew little, mundane things weren’t really little or mundane. But really: how many times am I not paying attention? how many times am I too busy to notice? In the midst of a stressful, hectic life, there is still time to stop and recognize things that might only happen once in a lifetime. So that’s what I’m trying to do – stay and breathe. Because there’s only this moment, and then it’s gone. Forever.


// Rereading The Storyteller on whim and laughing because I’ve forgotten how much I love this book. // The feeling I get when I’ve forced myself out of a chair, and gone for a run. The air in my lungs, the renewed energy – it’s so much better than sitting still. Like I could take on the world. // Late game nights when you don’t care how stupid you look when you’re laughing so hard you can’t breathe. // Sunrise and hearing birds build nests outside my window. //

Singing at the top of your lungs when nobody’s home. #sorryneighbors


// Growing plants. I never thought I’d be a sucker for little plants (my mom has the gardening thumb), but I guess I am now. I have half dozen in my room and they’re taking over my wall, and I love them. // Going back and listening to music I loved as a teenager and finding that I still love some of it. // Finding old schoolwork in the garage. Remembering how obsessed I was with drawing + how I used to cry over math. //

“The basic difference between an ordinary man and a warrior is that a warrior takes everything as a challenge, while the ordinary man takes everything either as a blessing or a curse.”

|| Carlos Castaneda


// Singing with your siblings all the words to Dear Evan Hansen. And laughing because we can’t sing as well as Ben Platt (I mean, we all wish we could, but whatever. . .) // s/o to librarians who comment on the books I’m checking out. And then we have a ten-second conversation about them before I leave. It’s awesome. // Reading Lisa Cron and bookmarking every. single. page. //

Denial, Hidden Figures, The Light Between Oceans

– I have no words for how amazing these films are.


Joe Zambon’s album Love Is has blessed me so much I can’t even say. It’s about love, and what it means to love, and not being afraid of love. I mean, listen to the entire album, but especially this song.

Cause Love will never leave when I retreat
Love will never break the bruised reed
Love doesn’t call me a burden to bear
Love says I’m a gift that’s worth everything
Love embraces me. Love replaces fear
It’s recreating me. Love’s recreating me

|| Joe Zambon, Love’s Embrace


// When Little Brother knows a soundtrack piece so well, that he yells out “key change!” at all the appropriate moments. #proudsister // Helping Little Sister set the table, and she opens the top cabinet like a boss, and I realize that she’s growing up so fast, and that I actually don’t need to help her anymore. //

Little Sister reached up to touch my shoulders and I turned around,
“Hey, how did you get so tall?”
“I’m nine,” she said.
Obviously.

What has been making
you smile lately?
always forward.
k.

4 thoughts on “Moments Without Words

  1. Ah yes, the little moments that go by without us noticing. You captured them in this post beautifully.

    Like

  2. This is so lovely and inspiring and I’m definitely a culprit of letting those little beautiful moments slip by without noticing and appreciating them :’) SO THANK YOU FOR THIS POST.

    “Singing at the top of your lungs when nobody’s home.” I CAN HARDCORE RELATE TO THIS HAHA. IT’S THE MOST FUN THING EVER.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SAME, girl. It’s a really easy thing to do, especially with lives as crazy as ours. : )

      *nods* It REALLY IS.

      so glad this encouraged you.
      cheers.
      k.

      Like

Hey you, don't be shy. Come and join the conversation?