the truth is not running away from you

Fall is absolutely gorgeous in the Northwest. People say winter is coming early, but I don’t know. I wish I had photos to show you – the orange, yellow, and rust, mixed with green when I drive the highway. I’m still wearing shorts even though it’s cold or rainy most days. Why? Because. . .I am a stubborn girl and I want to see just how long it’ll take me to give them up. AHEM. #haha

Today, I don’t have anything special to write. Just something I need to share before it leaves my brain space completely.

Here goes.

So, I was chatting with a co-worker last week – about the Bible. We were talking about the ways in which people reject lies. How, when, some people find out that a particular belief they have about God isn’t, after all, true; all they want to do is reject anything associated with that particular circle/denomination/group. They want to fight against that idea of God so strongly it causes them to alienate people who still believe that way. How because they’re so hurt, they just want to throw babies-out-with-bathwater. They can’t believe a person, who, is supposed to teach the character of God, instead teaches the character of Man as he tries to define God. They can’t believe they were lied to.

I told him that it’s hard sometimes, to bridge the gap between people and God. He nodded first, understandingly. But then he said something amazing.

He said: “The truth is not running away from you.”

I can’t stop thinking about it.
The truth is not running away from you.

And it makes total sense. We tend to think that truth is this deep treasure, buried within the heart of the earth. Something that takes blood, sweat, and years to uncover. Something that has to be hard, or: how else would I appreciate it if I didn’t have to struggle? Yeah sure, sometimes we have to dig a little. Sometimes we have to wade through opinion to find truth. Yes, sometimes our hands come out a little dusty.

But what my co-worker pointed out was that God doesn’t put truth on the top of the shelf and dare us to reach for it without a ladder. He doesn’t label it with a different word, so we’d be confused if we found it. He doesn’t tie it to the end of a rope and treat us like cats – begging us to chase it.

No. If we truly believe that God is Father, we have to believe that He sees us as children. Children, right? Children who, probably can’t spell t-r-u-t-h if they tried, but it’s okay because He’s teaching us to spell.

And I think sometimes we get wrapped up in pursing “THE TRUTH OUT THERE” that we lose sight of “truth. . .right here in our backyard.” We want to chase truth that shouts and jumps and flashes with color. But we forget that truth is also gentle and quiet and still. It waits for you to come closer and ask it questions.

The search for truth is a wonderful, beautiful, and necessary thing. We need it. It’s the seam of our existence. But. Let’s stop telling ourselves (and others) that truth is unreachable and obscure.

Truth is near.
It is present.
It isn’t running away from you.


“For this commandment which I command you today is not too difficult for you, nor is it out of reach. It is not in heaven, that you should say, ‘Who will go up to heaven for us to get it for us and make us hear it, that we may observe it?’ Nor is it beyond the sea, that you should say, ‘Who will cross the sea for us to get it for us and make us hear it, that we may observe it?’ But the word is very near you, in your mouth and in your heart, that you may observe it.”


*that’s Deut. 30: 10-14, guys

 

 

always forward.
k.

 

p.s. I can’t believe it’s been a month since I posted here last. Life has just been an insane kind of hectic, and I find myself neglecting creativity in the name of exhaustion. Not good, right? Anyway. Tell me how you are. Any exciting plans this fall?

One thought on “the truth is not running away from you

Hey you, don't be shy. Come and join the conversation?